Overthinking Bullet Choices

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

retrieverman

Reaction score
I do a lot more reading on here than posting, and from what I’ve gleaned here and on the other ML forum, I put way too much thought in what bullet to use for hunting deer. I guess you can say I’ve bought into the hype or fell prey to advertising, because I’ve spent a lot of money over the years on “premium” bullets (ie Parkers, Barnes, and Hornady). I see guys killing deer and even larger game with patched round balls and doing it efficiently. I recently used a inexpensive cast lead hollow point to kill a doe, and it put her down quick. This got me to thinking and reconsidering what I’ve been doing for the twenty years I’ve been hunting with a muzzleloader.

I’m still going to use saboted bullets in my in-lines, but I’m going to start experimenting with patched round balls in my Hawken.

I'm in the K.I.S.S. camp. Nothing wrong with a patched round ball. It's been a proven deer killer for a long, long time. Those simple lead conical bullets are good too.
I killed a deer last month with an old CVA mountain stalker rifle loaded with 80 grains of black powder and the 240 grain Hornady PA conical bullet. Don't get more simple than that.

I killed a doe today with a $.20 GT bullet and a $.20 MMP sabot. Sixth deer we killed with that combination since the start of last season. I have about 750 on hand and see no reason to regret the inventory. 4 of the 6 deer were pop and flop. Never moved a muscle. Previous to inlines I killed 40-50 deer with patched round ball. If I ever had a problem it was my fault not the bullet.

Shot placement, just as in self defense is more important than the bullet choice.