Realistic range

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kbf1961

Reaction score
Im new to muzzeloading here in Western Washington. I am going on a Elk hunt here next fall and trying to put a rig together and get proficient between now and next fall.. We have to use open sights and open ignition. That being said, Im leaning heavily towards traditional sidelock .54 cal patched round ball.
Ive never hunted with open sights. Ive been hunting with modern scoped centerfire for years . What is a realistic upper limit range for open sights with old eyes? LOL
From what Im able to gather .54cal PRB can be quite accurate to 150 yds which Im thinking is the upper limit for open sights.
Thanks ,Kevin

I am another old eyed individual. And I shoot a .54 caliber with round ball when I hunt, most the time. I would say your on range accuracy practice will be a very good indication of what you should attempt in the wild. A .54 with round ball is a lethal weapon but it is also limited, face it, because of ballistics and energy. Personally ... I would set my outside limit to 100 yards for elk. They have a bigger kill zone then deer so I think I could be sure I could place a bullet in the vitals. Also try and get that ball as powerful as you can. Most my .54 calibers shoot good with 80-110 grains of powder. Your rifle and the range will tell you how hard you can push the thing.

Now I understand there are cases of people with round ball shooting much further distances. Good for them. I want a solid, body damaging, vital organ smashing hit. That is where I get my 100 yard limit.

Is that based on the open sights, PRB ballistics or eyes? Am I accurate in my assertion that based on legal limitations, old eyes, sidelock .54cal round ball is just as good as any of the other modern inline options?