Sharing my thoughts and seeking some direction....

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

libertyman777

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

So, I'm relatively new to muzzleloading. To date, my son and I have put together a kit and he has purchased another flintlock to go with it. He really likes the traditional stuff. I like it too but I actually have something else in mind.

With everything I think I would like to do with muzzle loading I will probably need more than one rifle. It is usually that way.

1). First off is there any such thing as an inline muzzleloader that shoots round ball. I'm assuming that this means a 1/66 twist? Can faster twists be used if I drop the powder throw down?

2). Next, is there an inline muzzleloader that shoots non-sabot conicals.

3). Does anyone pour their own projectiles.

4). Also concerning sabots, does anyone shoot roundball with them? How about pistol projectiles?

5). Finally, concerning sabots, what would you use if you weren't able to purchase commercially manufactured sabots?

I know this is a lot. Any input is welcome, I'll really appreciate you help. Thanks,
Paul

Last edited:
First, welcome.

No matter what, you always need more than one gun. No matter what!!!!!!!!!!!!

answer to
1. Not that I am aware of but you will be hearing from a broad base of individuals who may have options for you. If one is not commercially available a custom gun could be made.
2. The rate of twist and caliber determines the best weight of projectile for a gun. Yes there are all kinds of guns that will shoot non-sabot conicals. And shoot them super accurate.
3. Lots of guys pour their own conicals and use them in rifles with twists designed for them. They are a thing of beauty when done properly.
4. I think some fellows do use reduced charges to shoot saboted round balls.