Shooting accuracy

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Independence day

Reaction score
I am new to muzzleloading and I just bought a Traditions Pursuit LT .50 cal. Now, I now all guns shoot different and there must be some experimentation to find out what the gun likes. So, can you experienced hunters with muzzleloaders please weight in and assist me with some recommendations on what bullet/ powder combinations work for the best consistent accuracy to maybe help make it a little less expensive to get it dialed in?

Matt

Welcome to the world of muzzleloaders. Your right in that they all shoot a bit different. When I owned a Pursuit, I usually shot 90 grains of BH209 under a TC Shockwave 200 grain bullet. I also used CCI 209M primers. I'd say to get a least a couple different bullets. 200 to 250 grain.
There are a lot of fans of BH209 as a propellent. It's good stuff but not cheap. Triple 7 is also popular as is Pyrodex.
Real black powder is my own favorite but not readily available in any shops.
The only real way to know how your rifle will shoot is to shoot it. Try some different powder loads. I'd start with 80 grains and work my way up to say 90 to 100 grains maybe 110.
Again, I'd get a few different packs of bullets to try.
Good shooting.

I have shot it a few times at the range, shooting Winchester 209 primers, Hogdon pyrodex pellets, and 250 grain power belt aero tips. Ignition has been great but seems to be a bit scattered. Played with the scope and got it to within 3" grouping now just need it to be more consistent.