Should I shoot a T/C Grey Hawk?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NatureNick

Reaction score
I have a Grey Hawk in like-new condition, with both #11 and Musket Cap nipples. I believe I have a 1:48" twist, 24" barrel. I got it in trade about 10 years ago for some work I did for a widow who needed to liquidate her late husband's arsenal; had to take this rifle in addition to others since her deal was I had to get ALL of his old guns out of her house. Let's just say it was a labor of love.

I live in Iowa now where inlines are legal for ML seasons, and have 2 scoped inline rifles, so I don't really need this Grey Hawk for hunting. But, I've never used a sidelock before, and it looks fun. I especially like that it seems to be nearly all stainless steel in a very sturdy synthetic stock, so I should be able to clean it rigorously without ruining wood finish or bluing/casehardening. I have a few boxes of 385 grain Hornady Great Plains conicals, some 0.490" round balls, pillow tick patches, Bore Butter, CCI #11 and Musket Caps, Pyrodex RS, range rod, short starter, and the necessary powder measuring and cap handling tools.

My questions are (1), should I shoot this rifle or keep it as a "safe queen" in new condition, and (2) if I do shoot it, what are good recommended starting loads for the balls & conicals? I've been shooting 209-ignition inlines with saboted jacketed bullets over Blackhorn since I started muzzleloading, & have no experience with sidelocks, Pyrodex, Goex, etc.

I think all guns deserve to be shot and I don't believe it is very collectible so I say shoot it. Just make sure you clean it properly before putting it back in the safe.
I'd start with 80gr of Pyro or Goex, .490 RB, and .015 patch. Good luck and have fun.