Some education please.

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

LHR

Supporter
Supporting member
Reaction score
I am completely new to smokeless muzzleloading and I have been trying to wrap my head around this concept of how you go about determining a starting point with smokeless powder.
In the rifle reloading arena, you have a given case capacity to work with. You have your bullet weight, and manuals that get you a starting point with any given powder suitable for the caliber.

In a muzzleloader, your case capacity can vary depending on seating of the bullet and bore diameter. How did someone learn that 60 something grains of H4198 was a good load?
Is this done by trial and error? Start at 10 grains and work your way up slowly till you find a sweet spot? For the record I would never try this !

I am waiting for my Woodman Patriot, which I will mostly be using BH209 with, but would like to try light smokeless loads as well at some point?
Just looking for information right now, and I will likely just go with what Woodman Arms recommends when that time comes.

So, if someone has a good explanation of how this is done, I would love to hear it !

Pic for attention:

IMG_1321.JPG

Make damn sure that muzzleloader you ordered is capable of shooting smokeless powder first. I know that by the time I started using smokeless powder there was already a vast amount of load information out there. And since I have a Savage ML II, Savage did all the initial testing so people could shoot safely (some still push the absolute limits).

Thank you for posting this because I am similar to you in this respect - being accustomed to working up centerfires.