starting point for CVA ACCURA MR Nitride

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

scottprice

Reaction score
my first season hunting with an inline is upon me. I have my gun, and the BH209 breech plug. I do have FF GOEX powder that i thought about trying, but may just go with the BH209

In the interest of saving money, I'm looking for suggestions on where to start. What is a good load that you've found when shooting this gun? How about scope options? Ive never had a scope on any of my guns (irons and red dots only) so I'm new to scope shopping.

will my cleaning supplies for my flintlock be good for this too?

I use a weighed charge of BH209, 77 grains which equals 110 grains by volume under a green crush rib sabot holding a .430 [44 cal] 300 grain XTP bullet. Very, very accurate for me to 150 yards which is about my limit even with a scope, but I have no doubt that at even greater ranges this would be a good place to aim for. I've shot some 250 grain and 240 grain XTP bullets in either .430/green sabot or .452/black sabot using anywhere from 63 grains weighed [90 by volume] to the mentioned charge and did ok but the heavier charge and heavier bullet just do best in my gun. I tried the 84 grain weighed charge [120 max for the BH209] but didn't gain anything but recoil so I backed down.

There are a ton of good bullets that will fall in the same weight range as the XTPs I've been shooting so play around a little but as far as the BH209 goes I won't go back to black or any of the other subs. The charge I am at seems to be a real common charge for .50's as is 70 grains weighed [100 grains by volume] using any of the three bullet weights I mentioned. I'll be hunting that 77 grain charge[weighed] of BH209 under a 300 grain .430 XTP in my Accura V2.

scottprice said: