Suggestions for ML Scope under $300?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Looking for a ML scope under $300. I'm just in the market for my .45cal Knight disc. has 30mm rings so if i can find a 30mm tube scope for them then thats a bonus. I'm just on a budget right now. I know there are several good scope manufactures out there right now. I've had good luck with Vortex as of late. Thanks for the suggestions and help!

I work in education, so I look for inexpensive but not cheap. One of the best hidden deals going is old 70s vintage Tasco scopes made in Japan. These were $500 scopes when new, haunting ebay, garage sales, flea markets and pawn shops can often find them under $100. My last one, a 8-32x44 w/ fine target dot and adjustable objective cost me $25 with shipping... and it compares very well with a new $250 Mueller 8-32 w/ fine dot and side focus.

The Muellers are good as well, lifetime warranty IF you have your original receipt (so if you buy used be sure to get it!). $150ish will get one of their 2-7x w/ adjustable objective. Vortex has a similar offering in the same price range, but I've not looked thru one - they have a good reputation on a few forums though.

Don't forget that the higher your magnification, the worse things will look at closer ranges. Get a scope with adjustable objective or side focus, or open it up and adjust the fixed parallax/focus yourself. Personally I'm going to do my best to never buy another scope without AO or SF....

You wont find a VX Freedom 30mm for $300 very often. The least expensive models are $300 and sales are few. You are looking at $450 and up for one in 30mm and there are too many better scopes such as the Sightron STAC for that kinda cash.