TC Hawken/Renegade Breech Plug With “Cleanout Screw” (How it was made)

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Another view of the ACTUAL Plugs

This is a Green Mountain Breech Plug. Just like my Drawn photo above, They have a Deep Powder Chamber/Patented Breech, you can see the Cross Hole that goes over to the Nipple in the Very back, Left
wZHja0h.jpg

And here is a TC, The Green Mountain Breech Plug above is a MUCH MUCH Better Design. But these Old TC’s Work EXTREMELY well when you understand them, How they are made. You can REALLY see where the Little Handheld Steam Cleaner is a DREAM with these Old TC Hawken/Renegade Breech Plugs
Vth5BGy.jpg
Mr. Lewis,

I'm new to BP and new to this forum.... I have acquired a T/C Hawken .50 (percussion) and am considering the finer points of loading and cleaning it, and the chambered breech raises some questions.

From the pictures and playing with ramrod accessories, it looks like the chamber is about 1/4" deep and 1/4" wide, spherical. It also looks like the flame (flash?) channel is about 1/8" diameter, and about 3/4" from the bottom of the chamber to the middle of the nipple, with a dogleg. I read somewhere (going blind with these forums) that the chamber and the flame channel hold about 16g FFg.

Is it better to slap the barrel or (gently) bounce the butt to settle powder into the channel/chamber?

What is the "best" / recommended method for not pushing fouling back down into the chamber, since the cleaning jag won't get down into the bottom of the chamber or clean the flame channel between shots?

Is it better to thoroughly clean / dry the bore with several patches or leave some consistent level of fouling to create best seal and consistent groups? I think I am finding a less damp cleaning patch contributes to fewer hang fires.