Tc scout loading problems

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Farmer bill

Reaction score
Yesterday was my first time shooting my new tc scout with great planes bullets.

I'm new to muzzleloading but I've been looking around the forum for awhile. The issue I'm having is when I'm loading. I am using hornady great planes bullets made for a 50 cal. They are seating very hard at the muzzle. I have a short starter to start the bullet into the muzzle but it deforms the nose of the bullet(see pic). After they are started they go down fine. After messing with it for awhile I got them to load without to much deformation by using a flat wood part of the ball starter on the bullet and a few cross peen blacksmith hammer hits on the other side. I really don't want to bring that with when I'm hunting. Is there anything I can do to make the loading easier? Would using a rubber mallet work? Has anyone tried that? I had some bore butter with me but it was frozen so I couldn't try that to see if it would help.

I love this gun even with the messed up bullets it still hit a paper plate all 5 times at 33 paces. Would love to see what it could do with a properly loaded projectile!
20210418_112638.jpg20210416_204551.jpg20210416_202537.jpg20210416_204130.jpg

Sounds like you have a Tight Bore, The Hornady Great Plains Bullet is a Tapered design, The Nose end Band is a “Driving Band” it is the Largest diameter (About .510)

Do you have a Reloading Press? If so, i advise you to get a Lee .501 Push Through Bullet Sizer, Lube the Bullets WELL, and Push them through the Sizer Die Base First, since they have a Hollow Base You do NOT want to Damage the Base, The Bullet base is what Steers the Bullet

Sounds like you have a Tight Bore, The Hornady Great Plains Bullet is a Tapered design, The Nose end Band is a “Driving Band” it is the Largest diameter (About .510)