Total newbie here...Whats an accurate out of box sidelock rifle..looking for suggestions.

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

trackhound

Reaction score
I have lots of experience shooting but never blackpowder.
This use will be for Oregon where I cant use sabots or inline ignition.
I want to be able to use this on Elk and deer.....50 cal ok or must I go to .54?
Just looking for some advice on the well regarded models known for accuracy.
I know there will be a learning curve with bullets and loads.
Any advice will be appreciated..
Thanks

If I was to buy a new sidelock now it would probably be one of the new Lyman's produced by Pendersoli. I would buy the Great Plains Hunter with the 1-24'' twist. Probably get it in a 30'' barrel. It will probably be great for heavy conicals or sabots. I believe you can get it in .50 or .54 cal..
You will be OK with either caliber for deer and elk.

Inlines are legal in Oregon. They just have to be percussion. No sabots, no scopes and no pellets.
https://myodfw.com/articles/legal-hunting-methods-and-weapon-restrictions
So most White rifles, Knight MKs or BigHorn would be legal if configured for percussion caps. Open ignition and caps is the only part that matters and there are many more inline PACNW legal options available.

You can buy the gun with the reputation for best accuracy, but if you don't load it correctly, it's just another bullet hose. Don't skimp on powder, caps, lube or bullets. Take time to learn about what makes these critters accurate.

For elk, 54 at minimum. A 50 "can" get it done, but it's marginal for elk.

I have lots of experience shooting but never blackpowder.
This use will be for Oregon where I cant use sabots or inline ignition.
I want to be able to use this on Elk and deer.....50 cal ok or must I go to .54?