Wanting to get into Smokeless

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey guys, new to the smokeless scene. Haven't gotten a rifle yet. Seems the initial cost can be a bit but I'm looking at the best budget options to get started. Where should I look? Is there websites that sell smokeless builds I could look into? Thanks for the help!

Cghost, I am new to smokeless as well and just put together my first using a prefit brux from hankins. It shoots amazing. So, I'm not sure of your budget, but I had a rifle I wasn't shooting. I spun the barrel off and installed the prefit, boom, .45 cal smokeless muzzleloader. Contact either arrowhead or hankins...

Here is my setup, started as a Remington 6.5 creedmoor barreled action in a bergara hmr stock. Put on the hankins .45cal brux prefit with the v2 brake, timney 2stage trigger, gen1 vortex razor mil... it's shooting ragged holes at 100yds and I have taken it to 600yds easily. I plan to take it further soon. Should easily be able to hunt from 400 to 500 yds.

Attachments

• 20221015_122642.jpg
    20221015_122642.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 0
I just sent my 700ml barreled action off to McGowan. They just ask that you send them the bolt and the breech plug you want to use. You are looking at a 10+ week turn around or at least that is what I was told.
Thats awesome news. Man when I ordered my barrel for my .40 SML from Brux it took 12 wks just to get the barrel alone.

Thats awesome news. Man when I ordered my barrel for my .40 SML from Brux it took 12 wks just to get the barrel alone.
My boss tried to order a Brux this summer for his 300 win mag, I can't remember if they didn't give him a turn around time for the barrel but I want to think they were over a year out this summer.