What do you think of the Firestick/Nitrofire system?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CedarPost

Reaction score
I am relatively new to muzzleloading. This is my second season, using an old Knight that I got in trade from a friend. I have been looking at newer muzzleloaders that do not require a wrench to remove the breech plug, but now the Nitrofire by Traditions has caught my eye. It's legal as a muzzleloader here in VT and the Firestick powder system looks super convenient and easy to use.

Has anybody used one? Any other thoughts? I'd like to hear other people's opinions. Thanks.

Well, you said it, it’s designed to be super easy and convenient, but that convenience comes at a cost. It’s going to be very expensive to shoot. Not a big deal if you shoot less than 10 times a year but it is if you’re a regular at the range. If you do a search here you’ll find plenty of disparaging remarks but I haven’t seen any comments here from anyone who’s actually shot one.

I think i will pass on over $2.00 cost per shot just for powder. Plus $500 for a chromoly barrel with Cerakote.....No thanks. It would be a downgrade from what i currently have.

CedarPost, just imho, but your 'old Knight' is probably 10x better ML than the NitroFire. You don't say what model the Knight is. I would take a $100 Knight over that particular Traditions model.

Exactly. I can already get 2100fps+ with a 275gr bullet in my Knights. No sabot needed and less than a buck for the powder. Sometime that bullet needs to come out of the barrel. It can no longer be pushed out the breech. You got to push it all the way back out the muzzle or burn a $2.00+ powder stick. Every state im aware of considers a ML unloaded when the primer is removed. Maybe some dont.