Wheel weights good or bad?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Leadball

Reaction score
I have some wheel weights and some extra time so I was wondering if they would be okay for a muzzleloader

I'm no expert on them but I thought I heard they were kinda hard for ML. I've heard they make good pistol bullets though.

They are to Hard for Blackpowder Velocities. I have shot them in the past, accuracy was reasonable in my Old Stainless 50 Cal, Keep in mind that Even if you get them to Shoot ok, You Won’t get much, if any Expansion, Unless you are Shooting a WALLOWED Out Hollow Point Type Bullet. Wheel Weights are a POOR Choice for Muzzleloader, You are MUCH better off to Get Pure Lead, and up to 20-1 Alloy for Real Blackpowder Velocities.

The problem is wheel weights are free for many of us. Imagine the year, 1765, you have a choice of using free wheel weights, what do you think would happen? My gut feeling is these would be fine for shooting patched balls out of a smooth bore. I know I did somehting with those when I was young and poor. I dont remember and odds are I did not know enough to notice. No worry about engaging the rifling or leading the bore in a musket or smoothbore. I found some round cedar wood balls I was going to try shooting. Smooth bore should handle about anything spherical you can ram down the barrel.

I think a consideration beyond hardness is that wheel weights use antimony while bullet alloys like 20-1 use tin. I forget why that matters. I think it has to do with leading the barrel with cartridge guns. There are a lot of warnings and cautions regarding wheel weigths on the internet. You can try google. The info is out there.

Last edited: