Long distance inline

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been shooting traditional for several years now and would like to get into my first inline for hunting in open country where 200 yard shots are the norm. I have been looking at the traditions vortek ldr and cva accura 2. Both of these look and feel great, I was just trying to figure out which may be more inherently accurate at longer ranges.
I also just bumped into a new tc omega with weather shield and camo stock and factory scope for $300. I wasn't considering that model, but the pricetag has me curious if this is an option. I'm sure the scope would need to go, as it didn't look very good.
Also, what is the best scope option? Do I need to get the leupold optic for what I am trying to accomplish?
Thank you for your help.

I have all 3 brands but none of the rifles you mention. If they still make the Traditions like they did the Pursuit XLT (only muzzy i have sold), I would not purchase that rifle, it will most likely not hold up for as long as you want it too, frame material is too soft IMO. Also, IIRC, they have no primer bushing (for adjustments and to prevent primer wear) where the firing pin comes out but I haven't looked at Traditions in a while to be positive.

My CVA Apex and Knight Disc Elite are my longer range rifles. I would not hesitate to take a 200yd shot with those if the conditions are right.

All my rifles are topped with Nikon Omegas, 3x9-40. I like the extra eye relief and for me, they seem to have good glass.

I did notice the Nikon had great eye relief with a BDC as well. I'm not sure which rifle it was setup on at cabelas, but I do remember liking that glass.

Ron,

What kind of setup is required beyond 200 yards? I would like to stay in the production muzzeloades if possible.

chickenmcnasty said: