Why not power belts?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hneidere

Reaction score
Hey I am fairly new at this but I have been doing a ton of reading, and I see pretty much everywhere that many folks are using sabots instead of powerbelt bullets.I purchased a Accura V2 MR and have ordered a breech plug designed for Blackhorn 209, and I have plenty of Federal 209A primers. I went out and bought a bunch of Powerbelt aerolite 300 gr bullets, because that is what CVA recommended (meaning the powerbelts).

It seems to me that with the rifling in the Bergara barrels there is little difference between my muzzleloader and any other high powered rifle, so why use a sabot when you can have a bullet fully engage the rifling? I mean if sabots were better wouldn't we be using them in our high powered rifles?

I am not trying to be a smart donkey here, I am just trying to understand why it seems so many folks prefer technology that seems to be a bit dated. Is this because it simply works, is what they are used to, and therefore there is no good reason for them to change?

Also, is anyone shooting BH 209 with Powerbelt aerolite 300 gr bullets?
I was thinking of trying 100 grs of powder by volume to start, does this sound reasonable?

I do not use Blackhorn powder. But one of the biggest reasons shooters here do use it, is for it's power / velocity.

With Powerbelts, high velocity is the anti-power bullet. How it got power in it's name is unknown to me. Also, most of their bullet varieties are known to breakup upon impact.

Powerbelt's best frined are grains under 100, using weaker powder than Blackhorn. I recall using Powerbelts 12-13 years ago and settling somewhere between 80-90 grains (volume) of powder, for good accuracy. If I were to repurchase them, I would only consider the 348 or 405 grain sizes, then probably suggest 70-80 grains of powder.