Good Elk Load

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kbf1961

Reaction score
I got out on the range for the second time today with the new Knight Bighorn 50 cal. Did pretty good for a Greenhorn I think. Getting 2 inch groups at 50yds . I wore my arm out though before I got to reach out to 100. I am using 295 grain powerbelts with 130 grains of Pyrodex RS..I am seeing mostly negative feedback on the Powerbelt bullet. Im new to muzzleloading and need to get dialed in for an elk hunt in October.
Looking for some advice on a good bullet and load for this hunt. Plastic tipped or hollow point? Ive hunted modern rifle for years and the thought of going into the field with a hollow point bullet for big game is hard for me to grasp. Are these as effective ? I suppose the closer ranges associated with the muzzleloader make this possible. Is that the case?

Don't shoot an elk with those power belts! I'm half new to muzzleloaders myself but was lucky I'm a big bullet freak and got good advise in the beginning my elk load on my next hunt will most likely be a 535 no excuses.

This worked for me this past year:

viewtopic.php?f=8&t=27889

I did extensive testing of various bullets and sabots, trying to find the most accurate load using a premium bullet. The Barnes 290 T-EZ happened to do it for me, and I would use it again.

You may have to see what your rifle likes with regard to bullet, sabot and powder charge, and go from there.

I agree with the good doctor the barnes t-ez 290 is the way to go. and yes stay away from the powerbelts you should be able to get much better accuracy than what you are getting with them. if the barnes doesn't do it keep looking. guy

I am also a big fan of the 290 Tez. Shot my first deer with a muzzleloader using the tez st 90 yds. DRT. :applause: I also have had good success accuracy wise with full bore Thors.