209 primers in smokeless muzzleloader?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

someguy2800

Reaction score
Hey guys, just joined the forum because I am doing some research into building a smokeless muzzleloader. I am an experienced machinist and handloader and will probably be converting a 45-70 CVA scout by boring and threading it for a breach plug. I've seen a few people mention that they are using 209 primers with their conversions. For you guys that have them, is your setup using a flame channel and flash hole in the breech plug, or direct ignition? How much pressure will a 209 primer handle? I am also thinking about making a breech plug to take a cut down piece of 327 federal brass and modify the existing extractor to pull it out. Any ideas or pictures would be appreciated.

I should add that I’m not interested in going nuts on the power factor. Ideal power for me would be like a 250 grain at 2000 fps. I haven’t played around in quickload yet to figure out how much pressure that will take, but probably 30k if I go with 4198?

....................I am also thinking about making a breech plug to take a cut down piece of 327 federal brass and modify the existing extractor to pull it out. Any ideas or pictures would be appreciated.
Using brass cases can cause you more trouble than it may be worth. Head spacing can be very inconsistent, causing leaks and gas cut breech plugs.
Take notice of the UF and RUM rifles.........

The case head thickness changes, therefore the head space goes bad. For the Remington Ultimate, the case head thickness can vary as much as .020" and there's no possible way to have proper head space with that system. Even Starline brass varies in head thickness of .005".

The best fix IMO, is the Arrowhead modular system for SML. You can, with a TON OF WORK make brass cases work, but its WAY to much work.