Cleaning primer fouling off the breech plug?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Bruce in WV

Reaction score
I’m new to in-line rifles and looking for answers to problems you folks are adept at solving.
For example: the 209 primer leaves a heavy, caked on residue on the hammer end of the breech plug in my American Knight 50 cal. I’ve been soaking it in Hoppes #9 and scrubbing with a hard brush to remove it. It takes more time to clean the nipple and recess than the rest of the whole rifle and barrel! Is there a better way to do it?

What powder are you shooting Bruce? Oh, and welcome to Modern Muzzleloader!

“What powder are you shooting Bruce?”

I’ve experimented with Swiss, T7, and American Pioneer. I’m going to settle on T7 2Fg for long term use: good accuracy, decent velocity with 90-100 grV loads, and easy clean-up.
The primer fouling appears to be the same with all of them.

T7 granular in FFg is a good powder once you learn to get along with the crud ring. It is as close to BH209 as you can get performance-wise and in the field is a dependable powder as long as some precautions are taken if it is extremely wet weather. Use a drill bit to clean the flash channel out every 10-15 shots as mentioned by ElDiablo.

“What powder are you shooting Bruce?”

I’ve experimented with Swiss, T7, and American Pioneer. I’m going to settle on T7 2Fg for long term use: good accuracy, decent velocity with 90-100 grV loads, and easy clean-up.
The primer fouling appears to be the same with all of them.
I use contact cleaner. Electro-clean it works good get the plug out and clean it while it's out don't spray that while installed in gun it will wreck stocks of all kinds get proper size drill bits for the flame channel and primer pocket.