Greetings from Sacramento (long). First outing with first ML Rifle. BH209 is great!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rsrocket11

Reaction score
Hello Frontier Muzzleloading.
Roy here from Sacramento.  I've been shooting since I was about 12 years old and shot in to the 1980's.  Marraige, work, kids took me away from shooting for 25+ years, but I started again about 5-6 years ago with a vengeance.  I've been casting and loading handgun/rifle/shotgun and learning everything I could about shooting (the Internet is great, thanks Al :scratch: ).

I have a CVA Kentucky Rifle Muzzleloader kit that's been sitting around unbuilt for over 30+ years and was thinking about building it to shoot, but I didn't know if I wanted to spend the time only to find out I didn't like muzzleloading.

I found a used CVA Optima Pro locally and bought last Friday it to see if this would be a fun thing to do.  I also did some research and saw that Blackhorn 209 was a good alternative to BP, Pyrodex, T7 and Black MZ.

The gun:
cva5_zpsa4b22471.jpg

I got a 10 ounce bottle of BH209 on Saturday and tried it out today using Winchester 209 primers.  I have several k each of Fed 209A, Win 209 and CCI 209M for shotshell loading so if one didn't work, I could try another.  A headspace check showed that the Win primers were still leaving a gap between the seated primer face and the firing pin face.  Oh well, try it first before trying to fix something that already works.  No mods were done to the breech plug and no shims were added to the firing pin housing.

For projectiles, I used my Lee TL452-230-TC bullets from my 1911 which drop at ~240g and are 0.453"+.  I use the T/C yellow sabots and the fit is pretty snug going down the muzzle.  I started with 80g (by volume) of BH 209 which should get me close to 1700 fps.