Help with White Hotz!

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

guitarnik5389

Reaction score
I recently was given a CVA wolf that needed repair from a guy at work. He said if i could fix it I could have it. Got it fixed, all it needed was a new trigger guard.

Now the issue is cleaning it, he used only White Hotz in it and I dont think he cleaned it well or at all. I soaked the barrel in Hoppes no9 and then scrubbed and scrubbed and got it as clean as I could. I test fired it after that and the Powerbelt did not need an excessive amount of force to load so i figured i got the barrel clean enough but Im hoping to get the barrel cleaner than i can right now.

My question to you folks is if anyone here has found a solvent or cleaning procedure that seems to work well for the White Hotz?

Im not new to black powder but I am new to using pellets instead of loose real black powder so Im curious to see if you fellows here have some tricks to cleaning up a really fouled barrel.

Sorry for the long post and thanks in advance.

First off, welcome to Modern Muzzleloader!

The Wolf is a nice little rifle and as a rule has pretty good accuracy out to about 150 yards, maybe even further.

The first thing I'd suggest is dumping the pellets.....any pellet. Granular powders are far more useful in inline guns. While a bit hard to find right now, BH209 is compatible with your Wolf. T7 powders are also great choices, plural because either the 2F or 3F granulation will work for you. Pyrodex will work too, but tends to be a bit weaker than T7.