New to Muzzleloading

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BigBen

Reaction score
I am new to muzzle loading but not new to deer huting. I have been hunting for a while now with a Horton cross bow and would like to also enjoy the muzzle loading week. I would like to either get either an TC Omega or a Knight Disc Extreme. I would like some imput on both as far as likes and dislikes. I appriciate your time.

Ben

Welcome to the forum Ben!

I would like to either get either an TC Omega or a Knight Disc Extreme. I would like some imput on both as far as likes and dislikes.

I've owned both rifles. I can tell you right off, BOTH are really good rifles! In fact you picked two companies that are the best at customer service as well although I'd have to give Knight a SLIGHT advantage here.

Most would say the Omega is a tad more accurate, generally. In my experience, I can't disagree. The Omega comes across as very forgiving when it comes to bullet/projectile choice. The Knight is a little more picky here but is certainly capiable of good hunting accuracy.

If you'll ever use the iron sights, both have very good sights with the Omega with the edge here. T/C puts the best open sights of anyone on their muzzleloaders.

One negative of the Omega is it incorporates the use of an exposed hammer. No safety, just cock and shoot. The downside is cocking the hammer DOES make a good bit of noise. Then if you don't take the shot, you have to lower the hammer, CAREFULLY! Also..The trigger on the Omega isn't one of its better features. It usually somewhat heavier than some other rifles. Here is where the Disc Extreme shines. It comes complete with an adjustable trigger and a safety! In fact, the Disc trigger is one of the better ones in the business.