Savage 10 ML II Question

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Decided I wanted a Savage 10 ML II. Haven't been able to find one locally or at gun shows. So that leaves online.
I found one on Gunbroker in which from all the pics it seems to be in great shape.
Since I have no experience with the Savage 10 ML II, I was concerned with the pic of the breechplug. I've attached the pics here.
I assumed it would have either have the breechplug that used a 2 prong tool to remove, or an aftermarket that takes a 3/8' socket.
This looks like neither. Please help me to know what I am seeing in this pic.
Is that the brechplug?
How would you remove it?

Thank You

Attachments

• Savage 10.jpg
    Savage 10.jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 0
  • Savage ML.jpg
    Savage ML.jpg
    402.2 KB · Views: 0
Sorry I now realize that is the face of the bolt pic, So disregard my former post.
They actually posted no pics of the breechplug.
Upon asking them they says it has the original breechplug.
I am waiting on a pic of it from them.
Any advice on what all I should look for in the pics?

Original plugs used a 3 prong tool and around 2009 or so they changed to a hex head plug. Same time the MLII-BP came out.

Last edited:
Sorry I now realize that is the face of the bolt pic, So disregard my former post.
They actually posted no pics of the breechplug.
Upon asking them they says it has the original breechplug.
I am waiting on a pic of it from them.
Any advice on what all I should look for in the pics?
Ask to see the breech plug with the vent liner removed. If the vent liner cannot be removed I've read that you can drill out any deposits that may obstruct it. If you buy it I'd get some spare liners.

Did you find one? I have one I may part with.
I did not. I kinda gave up.