Time to think about riflescopes....

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

big6x6

Reaction score
Over the past weekend I studied four similarly powered scopes that I have on hand; the Zeiss Conquest 3-9X40, Nikon Monarch 3-9x40, Leupold 3-9X33 Ultralight, and Leupold VX-III 2.5-8X36. Lately, I've been downsizing a lot of things around here. Unnecessary size/weight is one of the items I've been looking at.

I picked these four scopes for a reason. My thought is that the Conquest is the best $400.00 scope out there. Also, the Nikon has always impressed me optically for the money. The two Leupolds are my attempt to decrease stature and weight on upcoming muzzleloaders. My thinking was to do a little informal test and compare the full-sized Conquest to the Leupold Ultralight and then see how the Nikon and VX-III stack up.

I started yesterday afternoon looking at birds, tree bark, people boating, reading, boat tags, etc. I was at Moms house and she lives on a lake! All the scopes were clear in bright light as could be. One on my favorite test is to read license plates(all boat docks must be registered on this lake) of the boat docks across the lake. The license plates are red with white numbers for a really good contrast. The distances are from 203 to 235yds per rangefinder.