Traditions Tracker 209 rifling

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
So, I have very little experience with muzzleloaders but a little experience with regular cartridge shooting firearms.

I bought a very old Traditions Tracker 209 back a couple of months ago. I've had a lot of fun learning about it and shooting it. I'm not a precision shooter so just keeping it on the circle at 100 yards is good for me.

I wash out the bore and brush it, oil it etc when I get it back to the house. I guess I never really looked at the rifling that close before last night. I know when I look at the rifling on a modern pistol or rifle (except Glock) I see rifling that has "aggressive bite" to it for lack of better words. I know for example Glocks don't have that kind of rifling. Theirs is "Hex" I think they call it, but in any case, it's not got sharp edges on the rifling where other brands do.

My Traditions Tracker 209 rifling seems to look more like Glock rifling than what I am used to seeing. I'm attaching a photo. It's hard to get good rifling photos. I'm not too picky about this thing. I know it has a few rust specks on / in it. But, look at the photo and tell me, is my bore worn smooth our of is that the way its supposed to look?

Nicki.

Attachments

• 20230112_191801.jpg
    20230112_191801.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
  • 20230112_191759.jpg
    20230112_191759.jpg
    1.4 MB · Views: 0
Congrats on the new to you Traditions. I have a Traditions Timber Ridge 209 that is essentially the same rifle. Your rifling looks good. Over the years as a firearms dealer, I have seen hundreds of barrels. You are correct that Glocks rifling is somewhat unique.