.58 Thompson "Big Boar"?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tooldog

Reaction score
I have been shooting inlines for a couple of years and I recently decided to pick up a more "traditional" ml. I got a TC Hawken .50 persussion that is now my favorite of the bunch. Now a friend of mine is offering me a deal on a Thompson .58 cal "Big Boar". I haven't seen it yet, but he says it's only been fired a few times and is in mint condition. I think I can talk him down to $200. I can't find any information about the "Big Boar" anywhere and was wondering if anyone out there has any experience or recommendations. A good deal or not?

Thanks.

Tooldog

tooldog said:
I have been shooting inlines for a couple of years and I recently decided to pick up a more "traditional" ml. I got a TC Hawken .50 persussion that is now my favorite of the bunch. Now a friend of mine is offering me a deal on a Thompson .58 cal "Big Boar". I haven't seen it yet, but he says it's only been fired a few times and is in mint condition. I think I can talk him down to $200. I can't find any information about the "Big Boar" anywhere and was wondering if anyone out there has any experience or recommendations. A good deal or not?

Thanks.

Tooldog

$200.00 for a Thompson Center .58 caliber Big Bore!!! you better grab that thing up before he changes his mind because he is out of his mind to sell it for that price. New they run around $500 depending on if it is a cap lock or a rock lock. You can see them at http://www.foxridgeoutfitters.com/section.cfm?section=16 FoxRidge Outfitters.

The rifle has a 1-48 twist and will shoot roundball or conicals very well. I read posts from one that bought the same rifle and they are shooting 110 grains of Goex 2f and a patched roundball with excellent accuracy.