Advice On PowerBelt Platinum AeroTip Bullets 270 Gr. Bullet

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rebbie

Reaction score
OK Guys I am totally new to muzzleloading and have a lot to learn I want to get off on the right track! I bought a TC Encore Endeavor this past December and on the advice of my brother I was using a .50 Cal T/C 250 Gr. Shock Wave Sabot bullet powered by the American Pioneer Jim Shockey's Gold sticks. I have a quality Zeiss Conquest scope on it and we just could not get any consistent groups with it! I would have 2 shots close then the third would be way off! I would clean it every 3 shots. Ok so after much research I found out that the Jim Shockey's Gold powder is not that good, so I am switching to the Blackhorn 209 powder. I was going to try to use the Powerbelt 270 grain Platinum bullets but I am hearing horror stories with these bullets on deer! I am going on a Dream Hunt this December in Iowa for Trophy deer! I want to make sure I am using the right bullet! The reason I wanted to use the PB is that I hear they shoot great groups! But if it is not good for deer that what good are great groups! I am thinking about trying the Barnes or Hornady bullets. I would love to hear any advice for me. Thanks for anything you can offer!

Ok I am hearing that the Hornady?s FPB are better tham the Powerbelt for deer! Anyone else use them?

I personally dont care for PoweBelts at all. A good conical is just as effective and 1/4 the cost.

If you really really want to use them, use the 400gr+ size and no more than 90gr of powder.

Try shooting the Hornady SST's with 100gr BH209. I tried the new Aerolite Powerbelts in my .50 Omega and it was all over a 6" shoot and see target. Depending what sabot comes with the Hornady SST's you have, switching them out with Harvester crushed rib sabots may give better accuracy and load easier.