.... I got it down and.............

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

hawgslayer1

Reaction score
:D

Its been a long time since I bow hunted and about 4 yrs or so since I shot me recurve. I took it down off the bow rack and dusted it off. I have a custom made HUNTER RECURVE T/D 50#'s @ 29"'s made by Bob Lee. (If your looking for a good bow that will last check out the web site).
I checked the brace height and it's still on the money along with the limb distances above and below the riser to the string. No twisted limbs or warping. String was waxed pretty good when I put it there and its still tacky. The bow has been strung all this time hanging from the string.
I started drawing the bow and it was like I never left. I don't think it will take long to get those muscles are back in shape. A little bit every day and I may hunt with it this season. ( As long as I don't pull a muscle in my back ) :( :no:

Ray............ ;)

I can't speak for everyone but my comfort zone with a recurve is under 25 yards. When I was shooting my compound I would shoot a deer at 30/35 yards providing I had the perfect shot with no wind or brush and the critter wasn't spooked. I know that isn't a lot for a wheely bow becasue I've seen hunting shows where hunters have shot deer or elk at 50 yards plus.

Ray........ ;)

I watched a show last winter where a guy ranged a muley at close to a hundred yards and then shot it with a compound! Me personally 25yd is my Max. Been shooting mine a lot the last few weeks, love to shoot the bow.......

It is kinda interesting about the vast difference of 'comfort zones' that bowhunters have. Some guys would never shoot past 20-25, while others have no problem at 2-3 times that distance.