Pellets or Powder?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NDTerminator

Reaction score
After having used a Hawkens the last 10 years or so, I just traded it in on a T/C Triumph. Having become sick of the mess of Pyrodex, I got a box of Triple 7 50/50 pellets (all that is available in town at the moment).

I have never used Triple 7 or pellets before. I'm wondering what advantage, other than convenience, pellets provide?

Sure seems to me that powder is more economical and probably ignites faster. My gut feeling is to get some Triple 7 3F powder and work up my loads with that.

I wouldn't mind trying the Shockey signature stuff and when it comes out, the Blackhorn 209, but out here in rural ND I'm unlikely to see or find a ready supply of either. It's either Pyrodex or Triple 7...

Suggestions and advise are mores than welcome...

I think you're right on the only advantage of pellets being "convenience", but IMHO, it's a poor trade-off for what you lose. If you are really interested in accuracy, you need to use loose powder and work up your load to the best it can be. With speed loaders, I believe I can reload loose just as quickly as pellets. Once the lid is off, whatever is in there is going to slide down the barrel. Most would also agree that loose ignites more easily.
As far as whether to use 2F or 3F, I'm sure others on here can suggest what might work best in your Triumph.

Good Luck