The New (old) Guy

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Frank in Fairfield

Reaction score
Hello, I am 75 years old. I have been shooting traditional muzzleloaders for about 30 years. I have a TC Renegade .54 that I built from a kit and a Ruger New Army .45. I have a friend who I shoot adult air rifles with and he recently joined the muzzleloading fraternity (sorority) because he wants to try his hand in a muzzleloader only hunt here in California. He asked me to join him. I tried shooting .54 caliber sabots in my Renegade but they were too hard to load (I have never had to use a hammer with lead bullets.). We must use only copper bullets here in California. So I shot his CVA Optima and enjoyed it very much but I am a T/C man through and through. Along with the Renegade I have also owned a T/C Hawken and Patriot. I have a Contender as well, with many barrels. I am retired from the USAF and FAA where I was an air traffic controller and facility manager. I live in Fairfield, CA (home of Jelly Belly and one of the Budweiser locations). I am married with two sons and one grand-daughter. I grew up with guns and carried a Daisy Model 25 BB gun everywhere I went growing up in the suburbs of Baltimore, MD. We all had them (except for the funeral director’s kid who had a Sheridan pump) and even took them to school with us. The teacher lined them behind her desk until the end of day school bell rang. In addition to black powder I shoot adult air rifles and enjoy a trip to Wyoming for antelope season as well as trying to control the hordes of prairie dogs. I look forward to learning a lot from the shooters on this forum. I belong to other airgun related forums as well as a traditional muzzleloader forum. So, today I bought a T/C Triumph..

Attachments

• 1E14EC5A-B73D-48D4-844D-4AAEA7995C07.jpeg
    1E14EC5A-B73D-48D4-844D-4AAEA7995C07.jpeg