Whitetail Grain Load?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

b_vanfossen

Reaction score
Hello-

I'm new to ML and was wondering what the most common grain load of powder is for whitetailed deer. I have a TC Triumph shooting sabots and will have the rifle sight in for 200 yards.

Thanks,
Brian

the answer will be pending what powder and bullet you are using and what shoots best from your gun.

I shoot 100 grains volume of blackhorn 209 and in the past shot 100 grains (2 pellets) of 777

777 with good accuracy results.

blackhorn with GREAt accuracy results

g.g. is right ,my triumph stacks them in there , I shoot 110 grains of blackhorn by volume 250 gr sst hornady with a black harvester sabot, very accurate, and will shoot 200 yards if you do your homework,
blackhornn is an excellant powder like it was made for the triumph, try sum you will be happy, happy, do not exceed 120 gr. that would be like shooting 3 pellets, have fun, jbuck

thanks for the replies...

I'm waiting on UPS with my rifle. I have bought some of Shocky's 150 grain sticks to try. I had not heard of BH until yesterday on this site...

What do you think of the shocky sticks?

I want to have my rifle sighted in for 200 yards- with that sight in- what should I expect it to shoot at 100 yards? 1" or 2" high with 150 grain shocky stick & 250 g super glides....

Thanks again!

b_vanfossen said:
What do you think of the shocky sticks?

Take them back if you can. :) Really, i think the powder sucks. BH209 or 777 would be much better choices. You will also get higher velocities and flatter shooting for your 200yd shooting with the BH209 and 777.

Your T/C Triumph should be very accurate with the 250gn SW. The short black mmp or the short black harvester will be sabots of choice. I like the harvester a little better in the tighter T/C barrels.