Bullet weights

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shootermcgavin

Reaction score
I am currently shooting 245g bullets with 120g pellets. If I move up to 290 grain am I more likely to get a pass thru?

Assuming you are hunting deer sized game, with that load and a typical broadside shot - it should result in a pass thru. Of course this is assuming you are using a quality bullet. I've shot quite a few with quality 240-260gr bullets and 100gr powder and only 1 time ever did it not pass thru. If you are hunting Elk or something larger than deer, you may wish to move up in bullet weight. Welcome to the forum.

I would always recommend a heavier bullet. If your considering290 tez Barnes you will be pleased

Sorry, I was talking about deer. I am relatively new to deer hunting and this is my second season with a muzzleloader. Every deer I shoot with a 20 ga shotgun is a pass thru and leave great blood trails and they don't go far. Last year shot two does with 100 grain and 245 power belts. Deer 1 was shot in the snow. She took off over a hill with no blood trail and no recovery. The second deer was also in the snow. This one had a slight blood trail, followed it over Six hundred yards before finding her. The shot was right on. Just didn't bleed much.

This year switched to Barnes T ez and more powder with much better results but still no pass thru. The land I hunt Is pretty thick and without snow or good blood it is hard to find them.

There are a number of things that enter into getting a pass through, one of the main ones is the construction of the bullet soft lead bullets with big hollow points rarely get a pass through the heavy loads will some time blow them up.