HELP!! Which Muzzleloader?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

DKG

Reaction score
I'm new to this, and am having trouble deciding which rifle to buy. Is there a difference between the TC Firehawk, Thunderhawk, and the Black Diamond? Would any of these be a better choice in 50 cal for eastern deer hunting? I fould a White Shooting Systems 504 cal rifle at a local shop for $279. Is this a good choice? What about a Knight Wolverine? Money is tight, and I need your input!!

If I recall correctly, the thunderhawk and firehawk are 1/38 twisted rifles and neither has a removable breechplug. T/C no longer makes either rifle. The black Diamond is a similar rifle, but with a removable breechplug and a 1/28 twist. Any of these would work, but if your looking to shoot sabots I'd pick the Black Diamond.

The White .504 (you don't mention model) is designed for heavy conicals. These haven't been made for some time but they do have a following.

The Knight Wolverine is a dandy little rifle, and of all the choices mentioned would be my pick. The bolt/striker comes out and is cleaned as once piece and it also has a removable breechplug. My wife had one of these and it shot competitively with my more expensive Disc Extreme.

DKG said:
I'm new to this, and am having trouble deciding which rifle to buy. Is there a difference between the TC Firehawk, Thunderhawk, and the Black Diamond? Would any of these be a better choice in 50 cal for eastern deer hunting? I fould a White Shooting Systems 504 cal rifle at a local shop for $279. Is this a good choice? What about a Knight Wolverine? Money is tight, and I need your input!!