New muzzleloader safety concerns

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kunsangsean

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm in Idaho, getting ready for an elk muzzleloader season coming up. I have shot muzzleloaders a few times in the past with my dad, but this is my first time learning how to do it all myself. I bought a CVA wolf V2 Northwest and took it to the range one time so far. I think I have it kind of figured out, but I'm second guessing whether I am doing everything safely. I think I will try to find a local blackpowder club but wanted to see if I could get some help on here in the meantime. The manual says not to shoot lead conicals over 400 grains, but it sounds like people are using No excuse bullets pretty regularly. I shot about 20 rounds of 420 grain "no excuse" bullets with 70 grains by volume Triple 7 FFG. Other than kicking the crap out of me, it seemed fine. This is obviously against the manuals instructions, but are lots of people doing it? I would like to shoot lighter weight copper full bore conical like Thor, but they are still illegal in Idaho.

In reading through the list of possible things that can go wrong, short starting a bullet is one of the big ones. What I don't understand is, how much space between bullet and powder is considered a short start? Is a millimeter enough to cause a problem? Or are we talking like a half inch? I marked my ramrod and my only concern here is after 2-3 shots without swabbing it gets harder to load and it's not always exactly on the ramrod mark, but not off by more than 1-2 millimeters.