Markesberry Polar Bear

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

coaster

Reaction score
Hello I'm new to your chat board. I have a question. I have an chance to hunt elk in Idaho in 2009. I own a Markesberry Rifle with a 1-26 twist rate. I have been shooting precision muzzloading sabot loads up until now and the rifle does very well with them. The rifle qualifies for Idaho hunting regs but the sabot load does not. When I called Precision they said that my rifle would not shoot non-sabot pure lead bullets (their conical any way) accurately because of the rifling groves and twist rate. I see by the Idaho regs that powerbelts are legal. Has anyone used a markesberry 1-26 twist with powerbelts? I would really like to hear about it and the preformance you get.

Any help will bring much thanks. I really don't want to buy another rifle for one state?

Thank You

You should be able to shoot a lead conical with that twist with no problem. The groove depth might be an issue, Powerbelts are .500 but expand when the powder lights up to fully engage into the rifling. I believe CVA uses .010" dept rifling in their rifles and they fit snug on a clean, oil free bore.

For elk and the lead series powerbelt. The 405gr Aerotip driven with 80-85gr Pyrodex RS should do very well. The Lead series 444gr flat point would be the better choice as theres no hollow point in the bullet. I'd start with 80gr and work my way up.

Thank you for answering so fast.

I have been using 777 and black mag3 will they work with the 405gr and 444gr power belts? I like the black mag3 very clean powder.

Thanks Again

Yes they will work, I'd go with the black mag3. I believe it is quite a bit hotter than pyrodex. Maybe equal to triple 7 so when i say use 80gr pyrodex max, Triple 7 users need to cut it back 15% (Or 10 grains to make it easier) to be equal with Pyrodex RS.