Need some help. TC Hawken

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

flteng

Reaction score
Need some help. TC Hawken

A number of years ago I bought a .54 TC Hawken and being a newbie I didn't inspect the barrel. I was pitted but shot very well both conical and PRB. I shoot 80 gr of fffg with TC Maxi balls, great plains hunters and PRB. At 50 yds they all hit about the same the same spot. Every year this gun is spot on. This year long story short it will not shoot PRB to save itself. It will do fine with conical's. PRB all over the paper and I'm using all the same components. I noticed when running the conicals down I feel a roughness in the barrel and some resistance. When I clean the barrel it takes forever to get it clean and even after applying a good CLP I still get dirt and some rust on a dry patch. I figured the barrel has finally had it. Any suggestions on conditioning it? I was thinking about just dropping a green mountain barrel in it. This gun has ALWAYS been dead nuts on the money. Yesterday I disassemble the locks cleaned and lubed, scrubbed the heck out of the bore and started from ground zero. No improvement today. Also I recovered some patches and discovered they are getting torn up. Any input would be welcome.

Re: Need some help. TC Hawken

Do you have any Kroil or PB Blaster penetrating oil? Soak that sucker down good, better yet fill it up and let it sit for a couple days and then get back after it. See if that won't loosen up whatever is catching on your patches.

You need to make sure that the barrel has no lead fouling in it as well.

And if that doesn't work get the GM barrel.

MLN1963 said: