T7 Trials and Tribulations...

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dave19113

Reaction score
After testing out the 240xtp's I got a deal on I decided to see about finding a fun load with the T7 that I got on close out at Gander.

After switching to BH209 a long time ago I never went back to any other powder because of the good results with BH. So i am by no means an expert with other black powders or substitutes.

I tried a few different combinations of bullet vs powder charges and always ran into the same issue. For starters I had my cleaning patches soaked in window clear then rung out really well just like shown on an article here a while back.

I went in combinations of shooting 1 time clean, repeat..... 2x's shoot clean repeat..... 3x;s shoot clean repeat but still kept getting the same out come; sub par groups and change in poi after cleaning patches then shooting again. When I say change in poi sometimes off the paper at 50 yards. Almost like the bore needed refouling and starting all over again.

When swabbing bore I would use 1 wet patch followed by 2 dry patches.

I would really like the idea of using up this T7 for practice and use some more in the future due to the fact that my local wally world closes out ML items for sometimes as much as 50% off so scoring 1# jugs for 15-16 per is a plus

I don't use window cleaner, but rather use Butch's Black Powder Bore Shine. IMO...Never soak your patches, they should only be very slightly damp. Soaking patches and wringing them out certainly can cause a POI change. I shoot cases of T7 without any extreme issues.

ENCORE50A said: