To Clean, or Not to Clean---WHY IS THERE EVEN A QUESTION?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Matthew323

Reaction score
I was reading a post several minutes ago, and something the OP wrote provoked the title of this thread.

First off, let me make this disclaimer..... THIS IS NOT A DISCUSSION ABOUT WHETHER, OR NOT, TO CLEAN BETWEEN SHOTS!!!!

Second, this is a thread about cleaning one's weapons after returning from the range, or from the field.

Third, my background. I got started at 17 in 1971 with a semi-custom, .45 caliber, flintlock longrifle that cost $330. It took a year to pay for, working for minimum wage after school.

I had no mentors. I was self-taught, using the Lyman Black Powder Handbook, and copies of Muzzle Blasts magazines. I made mistakes, GOD was watching out for a hard headed kid, and I learned how to load, and shoot for successive shots WITHOUT HAVING TO CLEAN BETWEEN SHOTS. For up to as many as 75 shots in a row (most ever taken in 1 day).

Fourth, I come from a family of artisans and craftsmen that take pride in what they do. I was taught from the first time I shot a weapon, that you IMMEDIATELY cleaned it when you were finished shooting, unless there were dire circumstances that prevented you from doing so.

Firearms in my family were regarded as finely crafted tools (regardless of their price tag) to be held in the highest regard. To not clean one after shooting it was to be disrespectful to the firearm, and to oneself.

Fifth, I stopped shooting, and sold all of my weapons in 1994. I won't go into all of the reasons here, but suffice it to say I felt my reasons were sufficient cause for my doing so at that time.

I started lurking on various m-l forums about 2010. Here, our sister forum, Frontier, GON, Alaska Outdoors, American LongRifles, North Dakota, Cast Boolits, etc.