Triple Seven 120 vs 110

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BJohn

Reaction score
I'm new to muzzle-loaders. My rifle is a CVA MR-X Accura with a William's Precision Fiber Optic Sight. The load that has been grouping well for me is 300 gr Hornady SST w/low drag sabot, 120gr T7 (2 60gr pellets), and T7 primers. Plan to hunt Roosevelt elk shots likely 100yds or below.

I'm having a problem getting more of the T7 in 60gr pellets. My question is would there be a significant drop in terminal performance if I dropped to 110gr (1 60 gr pellet and 1 50gr pellet). If I combine my supply of 50's and 60's I will have plenty for practice and my elk hunt. I understand I would need to check my grouping using the decreased load.

I think the two loads will be very close. Shoot a few to check your zero. I shot 60 grain Triple 7 pellets for several years and when I had trouble finding them switched to powder triple seven. I carry two of the three tube quick loaders in my pack two tubes filled with powder the other with two saboted bullets. I have recently been sighting in a MK85 and found great accuracy with 90 Grains loose powder and a 240 Grain XTP. Waiting on some 300 Grain XTPs to see how they do as well. Might grab a pound of loose so you can dial it right in where you like it.

Thanks Ron, I thought about getting T7 in loose powder and it is available here. Does it come with a measuring scoop included?

Would 60gr measured by volume equal one of the 60gr pellets? Or are the pellets measured by weight?

It will be my volume. I weighed a 50 grain pallet, and on my scale it came out just under 31 grains weight.
Please never confuse weight with volume measurements. And do not compare the weight of a pellet with weight of loose powder.

I realize you were just answering his question but don’t want anyone else to be confused.

Last edited: