Using pellets

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nodanlboone

Reaction score
Definite novice here who enjoys firing percussion revolvers. I have inherited a CVA Magbolt (no jokes please) from my deceased father ahd want to try to get a Michigan deer with it this year. My question is if I use a 60 grain and a 30 grain pellet, does it matter which one goes into the barrel first when loading?

It doesn't matter which pellet you put in the barrel first. As long as both have a center hole it will make zero difference.
Imho, 60grains is the minimum that I would shoot. I prefer a little more, like 80-90. But you should get it to the range and learn what it likes. I think you will find the 295PB performs really well at less than 100grains. My friend shoots the 295PB on 2 50grn pellets from his CVA Wolf and it is super accurate for him to 50 yards.

That Magbolt is a decent rifle.
I don't think one pellet would be enough.
As far as the loading sequence, I don't know if it matters which one you use first. I don't use pellets myself, only loose powder.

Welcome to Modern Muzzleloader.com nodanlboone! And good luch on the deer hunt.

Thanks! And thank you, deermanok……first kind word I have heard about the Magbolt, even after I got the rifle and tried to look it up on line it seemed CVA didn’t want to admit making it…..seems a decent rifle to me except for being a pain to get the primer in that small bolt opening…..

Thanks! And thank you, deermanok……first kind word I have heard about the Magbolt, even after I got the rifle and tried to look it up on line it seemed CVA didn’t want to admit making it…..seems a decent rifle to me except for being a pain to get the primer in that small bolt opening…..
Your welcome. There's a plastic, flexible capper available for use with primers.
I've seen for sale a few places online. Supposed to be pretty good.