Which scope

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm looking at 2 different scopes to put on my SML. 1st is the Element Helix 6-24X FFP and the 2nd is the Vortex Diamondback 6-24x FFP. Element also makes the Helix in a 4-16X with FFP reticle for $70 less than the 6-24X. I'd be using this scope for casual long range shooting/hunting and not worried about shooting competitively.
Based on the reviews I'm reading the Vortex seems a better scope. Another question, should I go with FFP or SFP?
So you long rangers give me some advice.

Last edited:
I have no experience with first focal plane scope but I do have a Vortex Viper on a 20 Tact that lets me see a fly on a target at 100 yds clearly.

My muzzleloaders were the last thing I worried about putting a good scope on. This year I replaced a very old 4x32mm on my Traditions with a Leupold 3x9. What a difference for these old eyes. My Encore wears a Leupold 4x12 and I might even opt for a higher power scope. Gone are the days of open sights for me.

So many choices but I theink I'm going to hold off. I'll soon be heading to Florida for the winter and won't have time to shoot anyway.
Good idea and during your time there you can do more research.
Myself, I'm not a fan of Vortex on a SML, or even shooting heavy charges of BH in a SML rifle. You just hear of way too many of them being sent back or replaced. I have no clue about the Element scope.
Yes, I know price is always a factor, however, buy the highest quality you can. You'll not regret it later.