.52 cal Long range loads

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Carbide8

Reaction score
Good afternoon-
Just wanted to see how far some of you guys are reaching out with your .52.
Ive been shooting this cal for a few years and my go-to round for whitetails is 275 red hot with 80gn by weight BH209. . Also still using 375 for elk with 88gn BH.

200 yds is typically my limits on game with these rounds but was wondering if anyone was stretching this cal out to 250-300? If so what bullet(s) are you using?

My .52 is setup bare 209.
Thx

Does anyone have any ballistic data on the .52 lineup of bloodlines? Knight doesnt post these on the .52 for some reason. Thx

Not yet, hunting season is over and spring is on the way.
Based on my first outing success with my 52 500 gr, I'm looking forward to seeing what it will do.
If it continues to do well at 200 & 300, I'm thinking I may even shoot it in the NMLRA in-line match.

Thats a serious bullet. What is the advantage in such a heavy bullet? Assuming its fairly long bullet?

Carbide8:
Carbide- Are you a machinist?

It's not really that heavy for the bore size and with long range, weight retains momentum down range. Also, light bullets don't react well they slow to subsonic speed. So, either stay above it as long as you can or below the entire time - nothing new here.
All the bullet info is on the In-line section of this site - 52 500

For a 52, that is a lot of bore diameter so weight goes outward fast.
Here is a photo of my 500gr with Knights 375gr copper HP bullet (Knight's is 0.475" in diameter and 1.20" long). My bullet is 1.040" long (2 bore diameters) - Copper is about 25% lighter than lead, brass nearly 35% lighter.
How Long are your 275 & 375gr bullets?

Attachments

• 45 52 compare.JPG
    136.2 KB · Views: 1,036
This photo matches the discussion.
Sorry

Attachments

• 52 K rw.JPG