777 crud ring

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Smokey Joe

Reaction score
recently harvestedd my first buck with Omega Z5 and 3 sticks of Jim Shockey's Gold 50 grain pushing 250 SW bonded. Shot completely through and deer fell in tracks. After reading about 777 powder I thought about trying 777 fffg loose and wanted recomendation on accurate load for my Omega using 250 SW. Also was curious about where the "crud" ring appears and best way to remove it. The 250 SW is very hard to load if not cleaned between each shot. I confess that I have not tried a spit patch since as a newbie I have much to learn.
Thanks for any advice to help me get the most out of muzzleloading.
By the way, although I live in Alabama, I was hunting the late primitive weapon season in Southeast Mississippi which just ended today 2-15-07.

Smokey Joe

Smokey Joe,

Some where between 100 grains to 115 grains of 777 you will likely find a
accutate load. Load in 5 grain increments. Be sure to spit patch in-between shots and clean after 3 shots and "dry" the barrel. As the powder charge increases so does the crub ring.

Smokey.....Welcome to the forum!

Crud ring will form close to the breach plug. As 777 is a sugar based propellant, it is not only crusty, but cleans up easily with water. Spit patching after EVERY shot will not only make your loading easier but will also give you the consistent accuracy that you desire.

The procedure goes like this:

Lick one side of a cleaning patch. Make it very wet.
Place the wet side down on the end of your barrel.
With your cleaning jag, start the patch down the barrel using short pumping strokes. Continue to the bottom of the barrel until you contact the breach plug.