Cleaning between shots with Sabot

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jevyod

Reaction score
So I am still new to this, started collecting what I need. I will start the journey by trying Harvester sabots, and a lead 452-300 bullet. One thing that seems to come up periodically is how often to clean. Am I right that with shooting Sabots I will need to clean every 2-3 shots? Why is that? Do the lubed bullets help prevent as much build-up of powder? And how thorough do I need to clean between shots using sabots? I Think I remember reading something of soaking patches in Windex and running them through? Is this sufficient? Is this just a range thing and I will need to use another cleaner (Butchs bore shine?) after I get back from the range? Also, is there a special solvent that need to be used for black powder? I will likely use Pyrodex powder since it is cheap and easy to find. I might also look more locally for T7 powder. My local Dick's had it for 50 bucks a lb which I thought was pricy.
As an aside, I have another question concerning measuring powder. I see that I need to measure powder by volume, not by weight. What is a good measuring device to use to measure BP substitutes by volume?
Thanks for your help, sorry about all the questions.

I spit patch between every shot no matter what powder, bullet, sabot, Round ball, Im shooting. Im just trying to keep my barrel consistent for better accuracy. I may be wasting my time but it works in my head and on targets so I do it.

I dont do marathon shoots. I shoot 5-6 at a time to sight in and check accuracy. Then 2-3 times to confirm before hunting.

Measuring by volume is less accurate than weight. At least IMHO. Doesn't mean you cant get good loads by volume. Just be consistent in how you measure it. Consistent, that's the key, The same, the same, the same, the same, every time.