CVA Optima V2

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

user 25578

Reaction score
Hey there y'all what kind of range limit is expected from a cva optima v2. I'm using 100 gr of pyrodex preformed pellets and a 250 gr sabot.. I just started shooting and have only owned a muzzle-loader a little over a month and keeping within a 6 inch spread @100 yards. Still gotta a lot of work to do before i feel comfortable @100 yards (within 3 inches) @ least that's my goal.

Welcome, Mrtallz!

I echo deermanok’s suggestion on loose powder. It will allow you to measure each charge individually, vs. depending on a pellet that might have a chip missing on it (altering charge weight).

Loose powder also allows you to adjust charge weights in much smaller/more precise increments, wile you try to develop that “perfect” load.

What kind of sights are you using? Open sights? Scope? Aperture (“peep”) sights? Red dot? That can make a HUGE difference, as well...

Welcome to the “rabbit hole” you just went down. It goes on forever! 😆

Welcome, Mrtallz!

I echo deermanok’s suggestion on loose powder. It will allow you to measure each charge individually, vs. depending on a pellet that might have a chip missing on it (altering charge weight).

Loose powder also allows you to adjust charge weights in much smaller/more precise increments, wile you try to develop that “perfect” load.

What kind of sights are you using? Open sights? Scope? Aperture (“peep”) sights? Red dot? That can make a HUGE difference, as well...

Welcome to the “rabbit hole” you just went down. It goes on forever! 😆
Thanks for your support on this. So I picked up the CVA Optima V2 with a scope. The scope that came with it is a Konuspro 3-9x40

Hey Mr Tall,