First blackpowder kill with Omega and Black Mag 3

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

newhunter1

Reaction score
Ok, I've been shooting black mag 3 now for 2 years (I think) and I love it. Today was the opening day for Illinois Blackpowder season and I scored on my first deer with the Omega. When I went to the range I had a great time getting my rifle sighted in for 100 yards, 110 grains of BM3 and a 330 grain extreme elite from Precision bullets. I remember at the range that I had to really concentrate on not flinching as my combo was beginning to make me really feel it.

I also remember someone on here saying that when you sight down the rifle you won't even feel the kick when you shoot a deer...that someone was right. I felt like I was shooting my .22 as I focused on my target.

The 330 grain bullet was probably traveling at 1900+ fps and the deer was only 65 yards away. I watched a heard of does about 100 yards away and knew that they would come across the ridge and offer a better target and sure enough they did. They came in behind me and I had one doe blow, but the buck was looking around as to why...thats when I touched off the round. The buck was facing me and I put the crosshairs right between his shoulder and his chest and it really put a wallop on him. He did 2-3 360's and the blood was literrally pouring out.

Upon inspection I destroyed one lung, and the bullet stopped in the stomach. I decided not to put my hand in there to locate the bullet...there is only so much that I'll try and do. Anyway, here's the picture of when I got home of me and my two year old son.

2006-12-09098.jpg
[/img]

That's a real nice buck. Sounds like the bullet combination really did a number. You and your future hunting partner there look like you have a lot of good eating ahead of you this winter. Congratulations.