Food Plots

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Pocampo

Reaction score
Which seed seems to work the best? Every manuf. claims their seed to be superior to others. It seems to be pretty much all the same if you compare ingredients of same seed types. I have limited experience and wanted to know if anyone has planted chicory and or oats and how well it worked. Also has anyone broadcasted clover/alfalfa seed early in the spring when the snow was still on, it seems to work well here in west central Illinois. What do you use and why?
Pocampo

I plant BIOLOGIC Green Patch in the fall and have had great luck with it. The deer love it in the late seasons as it stays green long into the winter.

I have planted Whitetail Institute Clover in the spring which has come up well but often loses out the other grass and weeds since I don't spray.

I personally have had tremendous success with Imperial Whitetail Clover for the past 5 years. I lost about 5 acres of it this year to the drought. GLC is absolutely correct, the fescue will overtake it in the summer, if you don't mow or spray. However, when we'd mow around Labor Day, the clover would come on hot and heavy, and you might see up to 40 deer in the field at one time. This is in an area of NE MO, where 25 deer per square mile is the average. We killed 4 record book bucks in 5 years with the clover, either in it or within 100 yards of the plot. Last year, my brother took the 4th largest non-typical in MO with a muzzleloader, it was standing in the clover when he shot it. In the past 2 weeks, we replanted most of the field with wheat, and will frost seed the IWC come about Jan or so. Then, come early spring, we'll spray the fescue out. Best of luck with your plots. Remember, if you plant it, they will come.

I'm not quite sure what you mean "what seed works best".