Have Run Out of Elevation with Leupold VX5-HD 4-20x52

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Just received my new smokeless .45 buil this week and I was excited to top it off with my new Leupold scope and get it dialed in. At 100 yrds I seem to be stuck about 8 inches high and I can't dial it down any further. I decided to get high Seekins rings because I knew the objective would be close to the barrel (sits about 5mm off the barrel at the lowest point). The approximate distance from the middle of the scope tube to the middle of the barrel is 60mm. I am not an optics expert, but I have always been able to set my scopes up without much difficulty. I lap the rings, use a leveling system, and head out to get zeroed in. Any advice from those who know better than myself would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

You used up 2 complete revolutions of adjustment, and you are still 8" high? It sounds like you need to shim the bases.

I had a similar situation. With a suggestion from another member from here, they suggested reversing the rings, set adjustments back to zero another words set the adjustments to the middle of the elevation adjustments. Then remount and see if that’s helps.

I had a similar situation. With a suggestion from another member from here, they suggested reversing the rings, set adjustments back to zero another words set the adjustments to the middle of the elevation adjustments. Then remount and see if that’s helps.
This is what I was thinking about doing. Something I found interesting was that the elevation was already dialed all the way down as soon as I tried to adjust it. I also noticed it was supposed to have 3 set screws on the top dial to hold on the elevation cover and it only had one. Not sure what's up.