Moved Up To Loose Powder From Formed Pellets-Help Requested

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

C Broad Arrow

Reaction score
Well...It took calls to 4 retailers before I located a can of loose powder.

Supplies are tough to get up here, and powder, any kind of powder, is in short supply.

But the good folks at BP has a can of Triple Seven.

So I am looking for are some good loads. My starting point is a 250 grain Shock Wave. But I am open to ideas and other bullets.

The gun is a TC Omega (.50).

This is to be used only for deer. I do not think I have ever taken one over 125 yards.

Looking forward to your collective wisdom and experience.

Many thanks in advance!

Re: Moved Up To Loose Powder From Formed Pellets-Help Reques

I am no expert, but I would start at 80 grains and work up from there. If your shots are in the 125 yard mark, that would more than likely be enough. I shoot an Omega with 44/240 XTP and 90 grains of powder and my shots are about the same distance as yours, and have not had any problems putting brown down.... I actually had good grouping with 85, but rounded up to 90 for that little bit of assurance.

Start at 90gr and work up until accuracy drops off or you feel the additional recoil is not needed.

Also try the bonded Shockwaves if you want a tougher bullet that flies the same. Save the regular Shockwave/SSTs for practice.

Are you shooting Triple 7?

I have always like 777 powder but you are going to need to swab between shots. As far as loads like everybody else said start at 90 and go up. I'd bet around 105-110 will be the sweet spot.

All the Omegas I have worked with would shoot 100 grains so I would start at 100 and work both ways if needed. The Shock Wave is an excellent bullet I have used them for year with excellent results.