New to SML - where to start with loads?

Modern Muzzleloading Forum

Help Support Modern Muzzleloading Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I have been reloading for centerfire for about 40 years and have always had one ML in the mix, but never smokeless. For the last 20 years I've been using a NEF Sidekick with a 25acp plug from PRB, for which I just ordered a 209 breach plug (also from PRB).

Last week I ordered a 45 cal Brux barrel (along with all the other necessities) from Arrowhead for a Savage 10 that I already have. I also have Arrowhead XLDs and Parker BEs on the way (both in 275 and 300 grns). As a reloader I acquired a bit of powder over the years and have listed those within a reasonable burn rate below.

Listed in descending order of quantity on hand (ranging from 8 down to 2 lbs).
Benchmark
IMR-8208 XBR
IMR-4831 (maybe too slow?)
IMR-4198
H-4198
IMR-3031
Varget

Given the powders I have on hand, where should I start? Or is there a better powder for my rig that I should keep looking for?
Thanks...

Last edited:
Actually you have a great start of supplies on hand and your sml build materials. There is a TON of load info on here and on Doug’s.
RBinAr (RIP) had a bunch of info on Dougs brd. Lots of load traces as well can be found.
Do a search with particular request and you’ll easily find.

BuckDoeHunter nailed it. That’s exactly where I would start.

Arrowhead Gen2 LRMP Modules - fortunately, I already have hundreds of CCI 250s

Since you got the barrel from Arrowhead, you might also ask Luke about load data.

Be careful since some of the load data from other sources will be for barrels of a larger diameter.

The Brux barrels have worked very well for me with the 275 grain Parker BE bullet.
I recently tested the No Size bullets from Luke and they worked perfectly in the Brux barrel.

Since you got the barrel from Arrowhead, you might also ask Luke about load data.